One Saturday in December…

My daughter, Georgia has been in ballet since she was in diapers. For the past couple of years, she has had various parts in the Charlotte Youth Ballet presentation of the Nutcracker. This year, Georgia was a soldier.

DSC09126
SLT-A99V, Minolta 300mm f/4 HS APO G @ f/4, ISO 1600, 1/200s, –0.7EV

Being a soldier means you’re in all six shows. Three on Friday, two on Saturday, and one on Sunday. So we were busy that particular weekend. My wife spent her first years in college at Florida State University back in 1993 when they won the National Championship in football and Charlie Ward won the Heisman trophy. Though her collegiate endeavors moved her away from FSU, she remained a fan. And as circumstance would have it, FSU is the number one ranked team in the land and would be playing in the ACC Championship in Charlotte on Saturday evening, the same Saturday Georgia had two Nutcracker shows. And FSU had the eventual Heisman trophy winner, Jameis Winston.

But before Georgia had her two Nutcracker shows, she had to perform in a concert with her afterschool singing group and my wife gave me a green light to try to get tickets for the game in a subtle hint during the concert. Fortunately, the game wasn’t sold out yet. Unfortunately, the only tickets left were nosebleed seats.

I snuck my A99 in with a Lensbaby Composer Pro, put my 200mm f/2.8 in the diaper bag, and once I got to my seat I tried my hand at some tilt-shift.

DSC09199
SLT-A99V, Lensbaby Composer Pro Edge 80 Optic (80mm f/2.8 @ f/2.8), ISO 1600, –0.3 EV

It looks like the electric football game many of us had growing up. I was too far away to get anything really good, unfortunately. I can say I saw the eventual Heisman Trophy winner  Jameis and the number one team in the land (at the time).

DSC09164
SLT-A99V, Minolta 200mm f/2.8 HS APO G @ f/4, ISO 1000, 1/250s
Leave a Reply

