Catch Up Post (Series 2, Number 4): Pretty girls on horses

Hello from 32000 feet! Yeah I am on an airplane from Charlotte headed to Phoenix. Short layover in Phoenix and then I go to Northern California. Busy busy.

Bear with me as I am going to try something new. I don’t have these photos with me anymore, so I am trying to link photos from my website. I am hoping the post looks as good on the web as it does in my editor.

A few weeks ago… Actually more than a month ago now, I had the opportunity to return to the same farm I shot Stephen and Deanna to shoot Deanna and her friend Laura on Galileo and Sylvester. Here is Deanna with Galileo.

SLT-A99V, 85mm f/1.4 ZA @ f/1.7, ISO 100, 1/1250s

I learned a valuable lesson much after this shoot. I posted all of the photos, whether I liked them or not but picked a handful for selective editing. Horses usually attract flies. The photos I initially liked  and chose to edit were also the some of the same photos Deanna and Laura liked, except there were a handful Deanna liked where I wouldn’t have given them the time of day. She liked a few straight off the body with no editing. Maybe I need to shoot more shots which need no editing! This shot, however, I did a ton of editing on with no regrets. This is Laura and Sylvester.

SLT-A77V, Minolta 50mm f/2.8 Macro @ f/5, ISO 100, 1/640s

The girls both wore two pretty dresses and I was able to push my equipment to the edge. Vivid colors, fast action, and I had to be quick on the trigger to ensure I got faces when they weren’t concentrating.

SLT-A99V, 135mm f/2.8 [T4.5] STF @ f/2.8, ISO 100, 1/200s

Some action shots I went with a slower shutter speed to get a bit of blur on purpose.

SLT-A99V, Minolta 200mm f/2.8 HS APO G @ f/4, ISO 100, 1/320s

Other shots, I tried to burst at the fastest speed the body would allow.

SLT-A99V, Minolta 200mm f/2.8 HS APO G @ f/5.6, ISO 100, 1/640s

At the end, however, it was a matter of getting the color right.

SLT-A99v, 85mm f/1.4 ZA @ f/1.7, ISO 100, 1/500s

And those I may have not gotten right, I can always improvise.

SLT-A99V, 135mm f/2.8 [T4.5] STF @ f/2.8, ISO 100, 1/320s

Leave a Reply

