Bumble Bees!

I really wish I had a Macro lens. We have a ton of bumble bees this year! For some reason I am getting a flash back to the scene in Tommy Boy where Chris Farley is wearing David Spade’s coat. Bumble Bees defy the laws of physics. They’re also very difficult to shoot with a lens with 5 feet of minimum distance and using manual focus or DMF. I prefer to shoot them using manual or DMF as I like to trigger once I see focus peaking give me a slight hint I am in focus. I don’t have the macro ability, but I can crop the giant 24MP shots. I hope to get a little more reach today with my A77 if I get the opportunity to shoot them again.

DSC06691-2
SLT-A99V, Minolta 200mm f/2.8 HS APO G @ f/3.2, ISO 640, 1/1000s

Here is one I got the other day, a little bit slower, though.

DSC06422-Edit
SLT-A99V, 85mm f/1.4 ZA @ f/3.2, ISO 1600, 1/640s

OK, one more, just for good measure.

DSC06669
SLT-A99V, Minolta 200mm f/2.8 HS APO G @ f/3.2, ISO 400, 1/500s

Maybe a hair (or three) underexposed, but I was able to get the detail I wanted nonetheless. It does appear I need something faster than 1/1000s to freeze the tiny wings.

Leave a Reply

