Portfolio shoot tomorrow + Addicted

Tomorrow I am going to attempt to do some engagement photos for a couple in graduate school as a mutual favor. They understand I am trying to go into doing this whole photography business as a side-job and I need to bolster my portfolio to help obtain business. As a result, they are getting free engagement photos.

I did a lot of research online and saw a ton of engagement photo ideas, which I have harvested to a certain degree and I plan to put a unique touch to some of the standard shots and I have one or two unique ideas of my own which I am hopeful will be executed successfully and ideally, the couple will like their results. They’re not getting married until October 2014, so if I screw this up, they will have plenty of time to hire someone better. Hopefully I won’t screw it up.

In other news, I think I may be addicted. When I went to college, I studied Mathematics. I once heard a quote which has stuck with me ever since I heard it. “Lottery is a tax on people who are bad at math”. I bought my first and only lottery ticket on my 18th birthday, and won 40 dollars. I quit while I was ahead. I have gambled since, but typically I try to gamble in situations where the odds are stacked a little more in my favor. My problem is I am rarely in a place where this type of gambling is legal and usually when I am I don’t have disposable capital to risk it. Somewhere in the middle is my new addiction of submitting to i-shot-it.com. I can’t say it is much better than the lottery as the first contest I entered, “Cat Photo Competition 1 2013” had 521 entries. But I do control my own destiny to a certain degree. If I don’t submit my best work, I have no chance. I guess at the end of the day I am paying a tax for being bad at taking pictures if I don’t win. And I can always dream. I paid 3 dollars and I may win $600+ and a $800 point and shoot camera. My entry into the “Black and White Photo Competition 1 2013” cost me $20 and right now the prize is close to $5000 and a $8000 camera. I definitely can dream.

My online friend Christian in Austria, who entered a competition and won a pretty good chunk of change and some nice binoculars on his first try!

So I guess no one’s perfect, except for Christian. Hopefully he quit while he was ahead. I spent another $6 on the “Child Photo Competition 1 2013”. I love this shot. It really violates a ton of the “rules” and I frankly don’t care.

DSC04034

SLT-A99V, 85mm f/1.4 ZA @ f/1.4, ISO 100, 1/800s.

According to depth of field calculation, I had about four centimeters to work with at f/1.4 or less. I doubt I was a full two meters away. Kyle’s eye is slightly soft, but sharp enough. the true sharp parts of the photo are his shoulder leading into the trains, specifically what he is focused on. Everything else is a blur, which I imagine is how he is playing with his trains.

Leave a Reply

