Milestones and contest submissions.

I know it isn’t much relative to the internet world, but yesterday I reached 10,000 unique page views! And this is without advertising to my friends and family! I am trying to keep this world segregated from my real world and get feedback from strangers. My friends are usually too nice. I have alerted some co-workers of this site but no one I work directly with. My company has tens of thousands of employees, so I still remain relatively anonymous. Our Photographers distribution list has over a thousand members alone.

In other news, I bit the bullet and submitted another photo to i-shot-it.com. A couple months back I wrote about Ryan, a co-worker of mine. Last week our team of geographically distributed misfits met in Seattle as we do twice a year. I make it a point to shoot candid shots of everyone I can except for the women who just don’t like anyone to. I tried to be stealth and shoot this shot of Ryan, which I converted to black and white for submission to i-shot-it.com.

DSC01056
SLT-A99V, Minolta 200mm f/2.8 HS APO G @ f/3.5, ISO 3200, 1/250s

I really liked the shot in color, but I wanted to try black and white out. I learned a lesson a second ago, though. With the white backdrop of my blogging tool, there is a small gray blob in the lower left hand corner. I didn’t notice with the gray backdrop in Lightroom. Oh well! I like the shot nonetheless. Plus it is a great showcase of the A99 ISO 3200 setting. Here is the original color version with zero post-processing after applying the Camera Standard color calibration in Lightroom. (Notice no gray blob!)

DSC01056

I don’t think Ryan ever shows up in a bad photograph. Nice problem to have.

One comment on “Milestones and contest submissions.

  1. […] have documented in the past about some of my submissions to i-shot-it.com. They started a new contest a few months ago when […]

Leave a Reply

