Spring could come sooner… Right?

A side effect of this little digital photography adventure is EXIF data. I know where I was and what time it was when I took a specific photograph. So I can go back to Lightroom and look at February 27, 2012 or 2011 and see what I was shooting at the time. Looking at 2011, the first two flowers I got were two small columbines in my yard. They are featured in this post. Their first photo appearance is February 26, 2011 if you want me to be accurate. 2012 seemed different. I got a ton of daffodils first. I have photos of fully-bloomed daffodils from as early as February 18, 2012 but I also have the same two columbines. I just remember the daffodils showing up quite early.

This 2013 spring just seems to be later than other springs. I have gotten one daffodil, which has been fairly weak. And today I found one of the two columbines hiding amongst tall grass. The other had been damaged, probably eaten by one of my cats.

DSC01180
SLT-A99V, Minolta 200mm f/2.8 HS APO G @ f/4, ISO 125, 1/250s

I didn’t have much grass in the area before, but it is absolutely out of control this year. This should provide some perspective as to why I didn’t discover the columbine before.

DSC01198
SLT-A99V, Minolta 200mm f/2.8 HS APO G @ f/2.8, ISO 100, 1/400s

So I need to trim my grass, and I need to get out more. That is a fact. I also need to tell my daffodils to hurry up! The columbines, however, seem to be hiding out and right on schedule!

DSC01207

SLT-A99V, 85mm f/1.4 ZA @ f/1.4, ISO 100, 1/640s
Leave a Reply

