Goodbye 2012!

I think about 2012 today and I feel like it was a pretty good year. Looking back, however, I am reminded how current my memory is. 2012 was littered with political advertising. I am grateful for getting rid of cable television as I was spared a good portion of the nonsense. Our first week of not having cable was the first week of the Olympics, which made the lack of cable very tolerable and helped me ease into not having 2000 channels. With the antenna, I’ve found no matter whether there are 15 channels or 2000, there’s still nothing on worth watching most of the time.

I could go back and remember everything from 2012, but I don’t want to look too far back. For 2013 I hope to show people my inner peace and happiness as I have been accused of looking discontent and angry all the time. I will say I am guilty of having similar expressions if I am content or mad. And my happy expression isn’t much different.

I hope to get out more and find subjects beyond my back yard and try some things I don’t normally try. I did so very early this morning. I’ve been in contact with Gene, who writes the blog http://preferredaperture.blogspot.com/ and lives in the same area I do. Gene shoots with an A77 and he has shots of a run down abandoned building about 8 miles south of where I live, just south of the North and South Carolina border. Gene was gracious enough to send me directions. I tried a couple of things I haven’t tried before. One was the HDR mode on my A99. Here is the first shot, straight off the body. The A99 gives you a JPEG as shot and then the blended HDR shot. Here is the untouched JPG as framed.

DSC07068

SLT-A99V, 24mm f/2 ZA SSM @ f/4.5, ISO 100, 1/2 sec, JPEG Extra Fine

Here is the HDR shot

DSC07069

SLT-A99V, 24mm f/2 ZA SSM @ f/4.5, ISO 100, 1/2 sec, JPEG Extra Fine, HDR Mode 6EV

I took this just before sunrise. I learned one thing right off the bat. I need to shoot this subject again in the Spring. I just don’t like the bare trees. I do like the greens in the bush and in the grass showing up a little better. Here is the same shot shot adjusted to my liking in Lightroom.

DSC07069-2

And a bit of the detail as some is lost posting to a blog as it crops the photo to a fraction of the actual size.

DSC07069-3

I had SteadyShot turned off, and I learned you can’t use the remote or a delay for the shutter, so the HDR shots are heavily reliant on the shutter button being pressed gently. Good to know for next time.

Here is the same sign in RAW at a slightly different angle and a bit closer. And without the color adjustments.

DSC07081
SLT-A99V, 24mm f/2 ZA SSM @ f/5.6, ISO 100, 6/10 sec

I definitely need to play with this more and see if I can do a little better. I have some ideas for subjects and I am hoping time will be cooperative.

I’ve got some more to talk about as I received my new lens on Saturday. I feel like I need to be able to shoot with it to do so.

2 comments on “Goodbye 2012!

  1. Gene says:

    Totally awesome shot. Your LR adjusted shot by far the best is my view.

    • I wouldn’t call it awesome, I did learn a couple of things. I probably should have followed the in-body HDR shots with bracketed shots to ensure I had a few RAW files to merge together later. 24mm was way too wide for what I wanted. And it is frickin’ cold at 7:00am in January. I need to get better gloves.

Leave a Reply

