Pre-“serious” kid shots

I went through my Lightroom catalog and picked through 60,000+ unique shots from 1999 to 2012 and I grabbed some of the shots of my kids I took before I bought my DSLR to tell their story.

These two are shots I took of my little boy in his room after I found him in his toy box. The first shot I don’t think he was looking as I grabbed my trusty Sony Cybershot and grabbed a picture of him playing with what I hope is the toy he was looking for. I then staged the second shot by walking in, opening the blinds and taking a shot.

june03 020
Sony Cybershot DSC-S30, f/2.8, ISO 132, 1/30s
june03 023-2
Sony Cybershot DSC-S30, f/2.8, ISO 100, 1/50s

This third shot is another product of my Sony CyberShot, it also exhibits the beginnings of a resemblance of a style I may have when taking portraits of children. Now when I take this shot, it is with my 85mm f/1.4 lens.

pre-Christmas 03 029
Sony Cybershot DSC-S30, f/2.8, ISO 116, 1/30s

This is another wide-eyed shot, another one of my absolute favorites and one of my last shots with the Cybershot.

Easter 04 047
Sony Cybershot DSC-S30, f/2.8, ISO 206, 1/30s

I want to make sure I am equal opportunity and I include my youngest son in this post. Not like he doesn’t already get more than his fair share of time. I also wanted to show a picture that defies normal convention. The shot below was our family’s Christmas card in 2010. It is out of focus, has a ton of noise, and was taken with a cell phone. But it does what it needs to do, it shows precisely what I wanted it to show and the grain, noise and focus give it a chalky look.

WP_000325
Samsung Focus (SGH-I917) f/2.6, ISO 800, 1/30s

I lived without my A77 and before that my A390. I know I did, but it is hard for me to imagine not having my “serious” camera around.

Leave a Reply

