Four photographic challenges…

I have not one, not two, not three, but four photographic challenges coming to me starting tomorrow and extending through Sunday.

1. My wife has her best friend, Meg, a breast cancer survivor, in town this week with family, including her new baby. Yes, not only did Meg have breast cancer, but she was pregnant at the same time! I have the new baby, as well as their two older children to shoot. Meg’s son, Nathan is pictured below in one of my all-time favorite shots. I foresee more 85mm f/1.4 ZA than anything else here.

dsc07125

2. My son has a soccer game and I have to start putting the 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 G SSM lens to the test. Really I’ll be putting the whole system to the test. Poorly lit soccer field at night and I am going to bring only the 70-300 and try to stay away from my 85mm f/1.4. I may be pushing ISO higher than I am comfortable with.

DSC03519

3. My family is going with Meg’s family to the Charlotte Race for the Cure. My wife’s sorority is a major sponsor of Susan G. Komen for the Cure, her Alumnae chapter usually has a full contingent at the Race for the Cure event, and my wife’s best friend Meg will be there as a first-year survivor. A lot of pink balloons with downtown Charlotte as the backdrop. I am thinking I am going to see a mix of the 24mm f/2 ZA SSM and the 70-300 G. Last year I shot with my Nex-5 and my 16mm lens. I was still learning…

SONY DSC

4. I am going to the NASCAR race at Talladega. I like shooting at NASCAR races because the cars have vibrant colors, they go really fast, and you get really good access. I’ve never gotten to go to a race and shoot how I want to, however, as I’ve always had one of my kids with me. This time I am going to have an adult friend with me. I haven’t been to a NASCAR race since August of last year, and I haven’t been to a big speedway since May 2011, and I’ve never been to Talladega, the biggest speedway NASCAR goes to. I am going to put my A77 and 70-300G to the test in 12 FPS mode. Talladega is the fastest track NASCAR runs, and that’s after they restrict the horsepower to slow the cars down. The packs will be going upward of 205 miles an hour average. My seats are going to be better than they were at Charlotte when I took the shot below, my equipment is orders of magnitude better, and the sun will be out. And Talladega is more than a mile longer than Charlotte at 2.66 miles. Hopefully all of these variables will work in my favor.

SONY DSC

So my challenges are set. I probably won’t update for a couple of days as I won’t have my laptop with me. I hope to come back with good samples!

Until next time…

One comment on “Four photographic challenges…

  1. […] other than the United States. Last year he played his games at night which posed a few challenges I’ve mentioned before. The lights were poor and it was difficult to get the white balance right as different parts of the […]

Leave a Reply

