Quick Note: Give Zoom a Chance

I know I owe myself the opportunity to finish my ISO experiment, however I made an acquisition worth mention. As soon as I write about my adventure bringing me to possessing only prime lenses, I go and purchase a zoom lens. It should come in the mail soon.

I currently carry 2 lenses full time; my 85mm f/1.4 ZA and 24mm f/2 ZA SSM. I also have a 10mm f/2.8 fisheye I probably will sell soon and I have a 600mm f/8 lens I use to shoot the moon.

My son plays soccer and I am going to Talladega next weekend to see the race so I wanted something a bit longer than my 85mm. My 85mm hasn’t let me down. I’ve shot ballet with it. I’ve shot hockey with it. It isn’t really meant for either. I was looking for a Minolta 200mm f/2.8 which usually goes for about $900-1000 for the first revision and $1000-1200 for the high speed version. I missed out on a high speed version for $700 a couple months ago. I found an unused open box Sony 70-300 f/4.5-5.6 G SSM zoom for less than half the retail price, so I am going to give it a shot and worst case scenario I will sell it and I may get a profit for it. We’ll see. I love the SSM on the 24mm, but f/4.5 on 70mm and f/5.6 on 300mm is not as bright as I am used to. Talladega will be outdoor, during the day, so the aperture shouldn’t matter. The soccer games are under the lights so I imagine I’ll be moving the ISO up a bit for the longer shots.

ISO experiment part II coming next time. My comfort zone for hand-held shots with the SteadyShot in-body stabilization is 1/60s, so I’ll show what the ISO differences do the the apertures at 1/60s at the expense of more noise.

Leave a Reply

